Minto LogoMinto New Logo Minto, Hawick, Roxburghshire, TD9 8SA, e-mail: mintogolfclub@btconnect.com

01450 870220  [Option 1: Course conditions; 2:  Lounge Bar, Bookings and all other issues]

visitors book roundfive day timesheetresults trophiesmembers book round

enter opensmatchplay progressmedal draws

Club Championships 2018 - Updated Reports, Results and Photographs!

01 champs 201802 champs 2018The 2018 Championships were played yesterday, Saturday 30th June, in glorious weather.  The results are available now with some photographs from the day.  The 2018 Championships were yesterday, Saturday 30th June..    Congratulations to all our Championship winners and gallant runners-up.  There are now some photographs of the day showing the players, the gallery and the course.  Thanks to all the players, referees and staff who contributed to a successful day. 

Photographs are below the results

  Club Championships - Roll of Honour - 30th June 2018

Gents Open Champion - Darren McLean beat Craig Smith 2&1 ( over 36 holes)

Ladies Silver Champion - Lily Towers (beat Lynn Bruce 6&5)

Juniors Division A Champion - Corrie Patterson (beat Owen Cranston 3&1)

Gents Division 2 Champion - Ross Aitken  (beat Andrew Richardson 2up)

Ladies Bronze Champion - Flora Kerr (beat Maureen Robson 5&4)

Gents Division 3 Champion - Jock Rae (beat Stewart Mabon 4&3)

As Captain Gary McDonagh said at the presentation, the Open Championship was a game of two halves.  Darren McLean controlled the morning, getting to 7 up coming off the 15th green.  Defending champion Criag Smith fought back on 16 and 17, and nearly got the score back to 4 down at the turn, but Darren's putt on the 18th finally crept in on its last roll to give him a 5 hole lead at the turn.  In the afternoon, both players shot excellent front nines, but Craig's 34 to Darren's 37 narrowed the gap to 2 holes.  From the 10th onwards, a couple of holes changed hands, but the majority were halved until Craig went long at the 17th and couldn't beat Darren's 3, to give Darren the Championship 2&1.

The Gents Division 2 final went to the 18th green.  Ross Aitken was in front most of the day, but Andrew Richardson hung on to stand dormie 1 down on the 18th.  Ross though won that to take the title 2&1.

Jock Rae played very steadily in the Division 3 final and won the title on the 15th green with a 4&3 win over Stewart Mabon.

The Ladies Silver Championship final was played between current champion, Lily Towers (11) and Lynn Bruce (16). Lily took an early lead, and that was the way it remained, despite Lynn's best attempts. Lily played excellent golf, and her putting was on form. A 3 at the 12th followed by another at the 13th sealed the victory for Lily.

The Ladies Bronze Championship final took place between Maureen Robson and Flora Kerr. Both ladies halved the first hole, then Flora won the second. Next two holes were halved then Flora went two up, then three up, followed by a halved hole, then four up. Maureen won the next two holes bringing it back to Flora two up.Then Flora won the 11th and 12th going four up, they halved the 13th and Flora sunk a putt on the 14th to win the match.

The Juniors final was a see-saw affair.  Owen Cranston was in the lead coming off the 10th, but Corrrie Patterson dominated the back nine to take the Junior title with a 3&1 victory on the 17th green

The photographs cover the whole day from 9am through to 5pm, so inevitably, there are quite a few.  Consequently, the photographs are not held on the website server for reasons of storage space.  Please be patient for the album to load.   As they day went on and matches finished at the same time on different greens, some distance apart, one or two of the handshake pictures are taken from a distance. 

Unfortunately, neither Junior participant was present at the prizegiving.

To see the photographs click here